Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
user_153650
Former Member
Message 1 of 8

Unknown user on home network?

Hi,

I'm a newbie here, and am not sure if I'm posting in the appropriate group?  If not, please direct me . . .

I need help re: removing a recently discovered unknown user on my home network.  I am an administrator on that network, but I never rec'd any notification from McAfee re: the unknown user. The only option I see on the Manage Network link in my Security Center is to hide this item.  It shows the pc name, but no asociated ip address, as it always appears to be offline.

I'm running Virus Scan Plus 13.15.102; w/Security Center 9.15.135, Personal Firewall 10.15.103 and Site Advisor 2.9.258 on Windows XP SP3.  My DAT file is up-to-date.

Thank you in advance for any advice/assistance you can offer.

'LizBeth

7 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 8

Re: Unknown user on home network?

Double-click the taskbar icon to open Security Center

Click Advanced Menu (bottom)

Click Configure (left)

Click Internet & network (top left)

Make sure that Network Monitoring is enabled at right.

Now click Home (left)

Click Manage Network (top left)

You can click the machine(s) in the Network Map and select if they are friend or intruder.

You cannot, however, delete them.

Those warning will continue as long as you trust the network.  if you aren't actually using a network and don't want to trust it click on the network line and then at the bottom right select "Stop trusting this network"

Then close Security Center.

If you continue trusting the network and want to stop those constant reminders then you can check that option on the actual pop-up.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 11/5/09 7:23 PM
user_153650
Former Member
Message 3 of 8

This did not answer my question or solve my problem.