cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
evian55
Former Member
Message 1 of 9

How to stop mcafee interfering with xbox live?

Hello all

Recently I bought a new dell xps8500 and it came pre installed with mcafee security centre. I have never used mcafee before and was always a kaspersky user but I decided to give shot.

I currently have no broadband connection, just a midband internet dongle. Thats how I connect to the internet. I also have my xbox connected to my computer with a lan cable and must have my computer and internet connection active before turning on my xbox.

Now however I am facing a problem...I think mcafee is causing my xbox live to have a strict/moderate NAT (I cannot change any settings in my dongle so thats why I am blaming mcafee)

I need to know how I can allow xbox full access and for mcafee to not block any ports etc.

Can anybody help me?

Thank you

8 Replies
evian55
Former Member
Message 2 of 9

Re: How to stop mcafee interfering with xbox live?

Turned off my firewall periodically and xbox live worked instantly so pretty obvious to me that its a firewall issue...any help here please folks?

Peacekeeper
Message 3 of 9

Have you allowed the ip of the Xbox in the firewall settings. Sorry I am not an xbox user but my son runs 2 and uses Mcafee but he lives not with us so I cannot check.

Either check the xbox forums or contact Mcafee support and see if they can help.

evian55
Former Member
Message 4 of 9

Hi Peacekeeper

I think you're right. I will contact support as nothing seems to be working for me. Thank you for your reply though and have a nice day.

Peacekeeper
Message 5 of 9

Please inform us if you get it working. Did you read the xbox forums ?

evian55
Former Member
Message 6 of 9

Didn't get it working peacekeeper and tried xbox forums etc to no avail. Going to change my AV later on today and stick with what I know. Thanks for helping anyway.

Peacekeeper
Message 7 of 9