cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dth1971
Former Member
Message 1 of 23

Network Discovery and Media Sharing Problems-Lost me as a customer

I am sad to report that you have lost me as a long time and repeat customer.  (10+ years)  I am done with you McAfee.  I am a network programmer to boot.  I have been wrestling with this problem for 2 days and your tech support was useless.

The Problems

You have never ever managed to get simple media and file sharing to work correctly with your firewall.  Also you break network discovery.  This means other networked devices can not see my computer on the network.

I first saw this problem 4 years ago on XP.  I managed to work around it.  I manually added the ports necessary to share them after fishing around in microsoft support database.

I saw the problem again on Vista

Then I reinstalled Vista from the gound up.  Same problem

Then I installed it on my wife's Windows 7 laptop.  She has the same problem

But until Firewall Version 11, I have always been able to work around it.

I have been wrestling with trying to get network discovery to work for 2 days.  I know it's your product because when I turn off your firewall, everything works.  It works fine with security essentials (which is free from microsoft)   I am checking the log for incoming request and outgoing request and I'm NOT seeing anything odd.

Why this is a critical flaw in your product

Network discovery is an absolutely basic and critical function.  Media sharing is a basic function also.  How you guys managed not to see this problem for 4 years is beyond me.  A computer needs to have the ability to broadcast "I'm here" so other devices can connect to it.