Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kkenno
Contributor
Message 1 of 19

McAfee Firewall keeps shutting down

Jump to solution

I rang McAfee support regarding the above problem.  They came in remotely and stated I had a virus and to contact support for viruses.  I note this will cost me $129.00 if I get them to fix it.  I have ran scans and cannot see any viruses.

When I turn on the firewall it automatically goes back to off.  I do it again - Turn On - and it goes off.  Can anyone help me!!  I am not very technical.

Thanks heaps

Kenno

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Peacekeeper
Message 11 of 19

Re: McAfee Firewall keeps shutting down

Jump to solution

Karthiks usually has his next day organised I will reask him later tonight . He works till 7pm our time so still time.

View solution in original post

18 Replies
Peacekeeper
Message 2 of 19

Jump to solution

First what they said can be the cause but first check this. Go to the start button and run command and type services.msc and see if base filtering engine and windows firewall are showing in the list and both running and automatic setting.

Post back what is there. If they are not there a tech needs to access your Pc and fix the registry. There is a thread re this here

https://community.mcafee.com/message/285674#285674

If so support should have checked this so also post your job number please.

kkenno
Contributor
Message 3 of 19

Jump to solution

Thank you for replying.

The two items you mentioned ie base filtering engine and windows firewall are not shown in the list.  Guess I have a malware. My job number is  SR-1071776894 (#6356-357692279-3857). I thought I would have been helped.

What do you suggest I do now.

THANKS

KKENNO

Peacekeeper
Message 4 of 19

Jump to solution