Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
martint
Contributor II
Message 1 of 13

Website Blacklisted

Jump to solution

I am going to start off with saying I am very sorry if this is not the right place to ask this, but the discussion boards look very confusing and I saw somebody else with a similar problem get help here.

Here comes my sad problem with McAfee. I work as a designer and a small time IT manager for a small design firm called Profile Risk Management. One of our biggest clients, a hospital in our city uses McAfee as their email security filter. The problem is not in sending emails, those go through with them. The problem is that every time we send them emails a huge threat warning comes with it to them about our website having high risk potential. That is worry some to our clients and we can't have that.

I have scanned through our FTP with several Malware scanners and nothing has popped out, no other security filter has us in their Blacklist except for McAfee. Now I see only few reasons for that to happen and would like to get to the bottom of this.

Here comes my first guess what may be the cause. I don't really know how their blacklist works, but the cause maybe that it detects mass files that can be downloaded by the public. Those are design files that are too big to be sent by mail servers. Those are all either PDF, AI or Corel Draw files. They are up to public because we don't have a need for a filtered download code because those aren't high risk files for clients. I load the files to the server and give the download link to the client, nothing illegal going down there.

Secondly we may have been maybe reported to your automated systems from people because we had an incident with an hacker. The incident got resolved and we moved hosts, there is nothing left of him, after that to the best of my knowledge we have not had a breach to our system.

I hope you bear with the long text and can help me.