cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
andii
Former Member
Message 1 of 1

Webmasters A Must Read on McAfee Site Advisor!

McAfee Site Advisor Works Like This!!!

Because I’m not totally sure how McAfee SiteAdvisor works, I’ve come to my own conclusions which I’ve laid out below. I’m not a fan of this product and have zero respect for their so called ‘Team’, but that aside, as a webmaster I like to keep abreast of any virtual company who takes it upon themselves to issue reports to the world on projects they are not directly involved in, and owners of projects they have never had any personal contact or remote association with.

If these assumptions are partially or totally wrong, anyone with any inside information on the workings of this McAfee product/service, please correct me for the benefit of all concerned, including we webmasters.

1. McAfee SiteAdvisor automatically trawls the World Wide Wed testing sites at random and ranking them as appropriate for the benefit of the world’s surfers.

2. Anyone can submit any person’s website for testing irrespective of whether they have any knowledge of that person or any association to their project.

3. McAfee SiteAdvisor is neither obliged to, nor do they, ever contact any webmaster to inform them of any red flags which they’ve attached to their websites. In fact, because the process is automated, they have no knowledge of which sites are tested and which are not.

4. McAfee SiteAdvisor staff is totally aware that by flagging any web project with a red review could directly have a negative impact on that projects business if commercial, and also damage the web credibility of the webmaster for both commercial and personal websites.

5. McAfee SiteAdvisor understands that there are occasions when a report is just plain wrong. There are plenty of complaints world wide to support this fact as decent white hat webmasters try to clear their site’s ‘bad’ status.