cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Meems
Former Member
Message 1 of 8

Site advisor not working at all

I have 2.6 for site advisor. Site advisor has disappeared from my windows internet explorer page. I'm not technical and don't understand some of what you have said in other threads. I tried downloading the free site advisor from McAfee and that didn't show up on my screen either. I really liked using it for checking sites but I can't find it anywhere? Any ideas where it's hiding? There is no green icon. There used to be. Thanks for any advice.
7 Replies
BastiaanR
Former Member
Message 2 of 8

RE: Site advisor not working at all

Try the following:
- open Internet Explorer
- click Tools
- click Internet Options
- open tab Advanced
- in the list of options, make sure that "Allow 3rd party plugins" (or something like that) is ticked

Else try the following:
- open Internet Explorer
- click Tools
- click Manage Add-ons
- click Enable or Disable Add-ons
- make sure the Add-ons for SiteAdvisor are Enabled
Meems
Former Member
Message 3 of 8

SiteAdvisor not working

I enabled third-party browser. The McAfee site advisor was already enabled. I restarted the computer. It still is not there. Any other advice?
Thanks for the help.
JAMIE4418
Former Member
Message 4 of 8

RE: SiteAdvisor not working

Hi Bastiann. I too am having problems with Mcafee Siteadvisor. It worked great until I installed Norton 2007. Do you know if Norton conflicts with MSI?

By the way, I'm still getting SI readings while using IE7, but not Firefox. Could it be because Norton is trying to help their buddies at Microsoft?

MSI is awesome and I need it to surf the web.

Thanks.
JAMIE4418
Former Member
Message 5 of 8

Hey. Actually, I got it to work. I just reinstalled MSI and it works fine now.

I urge EVERYONE to use MSI and a good securitiy suite.

The internet is far more dangerous than people realize.
JAMIE4418
Former Member
Message 6 of 8