Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Former Member
Message 1 of 4

Question about something that I think is pretty odd


I went to eicar.org, I wanted to see if my antivirus was on because I do not see it in the taskbar at the present moment and wanted to download the test file to make sure it is on and was left with a page like that.

I don't understand how does eicar.org steal your information?

Thank you

3 Replies
Contributor III
Message 2 of 4

RE: Question about something that I think is pretty odd

The *eicar.org* does not steal your information, see this: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/eicar.org, which is green and has a clean bill of health.

What you are trying to do is this: "www.eicar.org/download/eicar.com" and that is in fact the file, with the fake virus in it. And that makes the SA site to display a warning...
Former Member
Message 3 of 4

RE: Question about something that I think is pretty odd

What I'm trying to say is why does it display that message at all if it is a fake virus which I knew all along it was because I've used that site for years to test my antivirus.

I was not trying to link you to the fake detected file that most antiviruses/if not all antiviruses detect to make sure the antivirus is turned on\working properly, whatever. I wanted to show you the exact message that siteadvisor displayed, didn't I do that?

And that is what I get when I click on my siteadvisor link I posted. I got it when I tried to download the test file, but why does it say that if it doesn't do that? I mean if I didn't know any better I might think that was a bad site to go to.
www.eicar.org/download/eicar.com may try to steal your information.
Why were you redirected to this page? When we visited this site, we found it may be designed to trick you into submitting your financial or personal information to online scammers. This is a serious security threat which could lead to identity theft, financial losses or other dissemination of personal information
Former Member
Message 4 of 4

RE: Question about something that I think is pretty odd

The URL points to a file (eicar.com) on the www.eicar.org website. .com files are so-called executables (programs), like .exe, and .bat files. Since some websites also end in .com, it could appear to SiteAdvisor as if the URL is not linking to a file but to a site who's address is formed to mislead a visitor.

- Does this URL point to the eicar.com file, on the www.eicar.org website in the /download/ folder?
- Or does that URL point to the www.eicar.org/download/eicar.com website?
How Many Badges Can You Collect?
Ready for a little competition? Members like you are earning badges and unlocking perks for their helpful answers. Are you? Click here to find out.

Community Help Hub

    New to the forums or need help finding your way around the forums? There's a whole hub of community resources to help you.

  • Find Forum FAQs
  • Learn How to Earn Badges
  • Ask for Help
Go to Community Help

Join the Community

    Thousands of customers use the McAfee Community for peer-to-peer and expert product support. Enjoy these benefits with a free membership:

  • Get helpful solutions from McAfee experts.
  • Stay connected to product conversations that matter to you.
  • Participate in product groups led by McAfee employees.
Join the Community
Join the Community