cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
fredq
Former Member
Message 1 of 4

Msie8 with SA slow getting files from Apache HTTPD with KeepAlive

I am a web developer who has developed a website hosted on Apache HTTPD 2.2 with KeepAlive enabled, that serves up Adobe Flash AS3 movies (SWF files) that in turn downloads supporting textual files (with suffix JSON). When a user on a Windows XP Pro SP3 computer, downloads the movie from the website using Firefox, Safari, Chrome, or Opera (latest versions of all browsers) it downloads quickly. But when using MSIE 8 with latest SiteAdvisor plugin loaded, it downloads 5 times slower (SiteAdvisor is also loaded in the Firefox). But when I go into MSIE Tools/Manage Add-ons and disable "McAfee SiteAdvisor Toolbar and BHO" it then downloads just as fast as the other browsers. I can tail (watch) the httpd request_log file as I download the movie and see that with MSIE with SiteAdvisor enabled, it is taking an indordinate amount of time (2 seconds/file) downloading a dozen 1KB sized JSON text files.

This leads me to believe there is a problem with the MSIE implementation of SiteAdvisor.

I ran McAfee Virtual Technician and it reports OK for all Health Check Details for SiteAdvisor 2.9.258.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

fredq
3 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 4

RE: Msie8 with SA slow getting files from Apache HTTPD with KeepAlive

You should either contact Technical Support Chat, linked at top left of this page or in my signature, and/or use the SiteAdvisor Feedback form, also linked in my signature.

That is too technical for us to answer in this forum. The only thought I have is that perhaps these users have turned on SiteAdvisor's "Protected Mode".

The plug-in was developed years ago for Internet Explorer and Firefox and I haven't personally experienced this and I'm using IE8 with SiteAdvisor in both Vista and Windows 7, although 2 seconds doesn't seem inordinate to me.