cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sodapop
Former Member
Message 1 of 6

McAfee Says Metacafee isn't safe?

For the most part I've very much enjoyed using McAfee Free Siteadvisor. Although something its done lately does have me a bit baffled. I've many times in the past used Metacafee for all sorts of videos. Now however its saying that Metacafe is unsafe & has had 70 something unsafe downloads. It has never said this before & I was wondering is there some sort of glitch occuring or is Metacafee really unsafe lately?

My appologies if this is in the wrong catagory or has already been posted, I'm new to these forums so I'm still learning. However, if some one could please answer this I would greatly appreacate it.

5 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 6

Re: McAfee Says Metacafee isn't safe?

You're in the right spot. I presume you mean metacafe with one 'e'?   The SiteAdvisor rating process is automated so it would be difficult to ascertain exactly what changed to cause it suddenly to warrant a red rating.

The website owner has some options open:  https://community.mcafee.com/message/68874#68874

However, if you have relied upon it in the past and trust it personally, you can simply override that warning and go to the site anyway.  

SiteAdvisor is merely a tool to warn of potential pitfalls.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 24/04/11 10:05:46 EDT AM
Hayton
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Message 3 of 6

Not sure about this one. SiteAdvisor's site page says that 77 downloads are infected with the PWS-OnlineGames Trojan. These downloads are all apparently games, as you might expect, although metacafe is mostly associated with video downloads.