cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Escana
Former Member
Message 1 of 15

Update installation error

Firstly can I say I am not a techie person in the slightest but just looking for some simple help re a problem I have been having lately.

I keep getting messages on my laptop that McAfee cannot install updates yet my computer is secure.

I have tried manually updating, same problem.  Downloads updates but installation error.

I installed the virtual technician today and it came up with this but everything else was ok.   ( I have  windows 7.)  Thanks, Chris

DAT and Engine                   1 DAT / Engine update                        
                                DAT not Up-to-date                                
                            Expected :
                              Existing: 7381
                                Engine Up-to-date                                
                            Expected : 5500
                            Existing: 5500
                  Top Issues                                       OK                    
                            Top Issue:  Corrupt DAT issue
14 Replies
k3tg
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Message 2 of 15

Re: Update installation error

There may be an issue with the update server but I would recommend you uninstall and reinstall your software following the instructions http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?lc=1033&id=TS101331 and be sure to use the MCPR removal tool after uninstall.

Login to your online account and install your software

Let us know if this resolves your issue

catdaddy
MVP
MVP
Message 3 of 15

I would have to agree with Tom, as I was about to suggest the same thing. I noticed that your MVT log displayed (Dats). Is by chance your McAfee Product supplied by your ISP? For the latest Version 12.8xxx,updates differently by using "Engine Versions",opposed to Dats.

That seems more so in-line with the (11.6xxx) Version?