cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Al00005
Contributor
Message 1 of 2

True Key outage

I am usually one of the last people to complain as I pride myself on practicing a lot of patience. This is a now a mess though. Like others have stated, some type of communication would have been helpful. I am not sure it would have been the most practical. That said, a lot end users tend to fix things ourselves so a simple uninstall and reinstall is one of the first troubleshooting steps... However, DO NOT UNINSTALL True Key. That will negate any possibility of retrieving passwords from offline mode. You might be able to sign in after uninstalling (Chrome extension, phone app), but your Vault will no longer be cached on the device, and you will see a blank slate. 

This outage has gone on for days now. I am extremely disappointed and worried too. I work in IT Security, and coincidently I manage a corporate privileged password management system in a large environment. Having the outage for this long, has me concerned about some type of breech. I have taken the approach to reset all my passwords, and I have moved to a new service. If there has been a breech, then the damage is done and resetting every password will only mitigate the danger for everyone. I am happy that I did not store any social security numbers in this system.

Resetting my passwords without knowing a current password has been very painful, especially in some situations. For example, some banks want a lot of information before they will initiate a password reset. I have about 400 credentials stored in True Key and have started manually resetting the most important ones first.