cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
firedrop
Contributor
Message 1 of 4

Macfee Vault (Very upsetting from McAfee)

Hi All, 

Issue:-

I have this issue which is really upsetting from Mcafee. I Have been using the Macfee Vault feature for a couple of years where out of a sudden this feature was removed. My issue is I can't access my files anymore. Hence, files in the vault are critical files.!! 

I have even tried to raise a ticket and the support basically told me to wait till the next update which should be your file via Z: as default ... first, I just can't trust that, and second, they don't have a timeline. You can't just simply tell your client ohhh wait till we release the next update after we screw up while you have a major client impact.  This is insane from McAfee!

I come from IT Change and Release Mgmt role and any kind of incident like this should be considered as an emergency release, not just a standard release where customers are impacted on a daily basis. I didn't expect McAfee to have such a bad customer experience.  

Question

I don't mind buying another software from a different vendor to retrieve my files as they are very critical files. Can you please suggest any other tool I can use to retrieve my files? I

I can wait for McAfee just to take their sweat time to sort this screw up.

3 Replies
Peacekeeper
Message 2 of 4

Re: Macfee Vault (Very upsetting from McAfee)

Two possibilities to retrieve the data are..

1. Go to a restore point prior to end February update that removed the feature. This worked for 1 user. Copy your data to a external source then restore back to current . Make sure you do a current restore point first.

2. Hopefully you use a backup program like I do such as Acronis.  Do a current backup and therefore to a mid to late February date.

Good luck hope Mcafee produces something to extract the data.

firedrop
Contributor
Message 3 of 4

Thanks for your response.