Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pudding
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 2

Unable to complete McAfee scan

Hi, I have zero tech knowledge & am hoping someone can help with our old Dell Laptop. We have resorted to using this as our Acer which was less than 2 years old died! Won't boot up, but that's a separate issue.

The Dell is running very slow, when it runs at all. Volume has disappeared, screen saver changes back to webshots when I tried to change it to a simgle image in the hope that that might speed things up. Web pages appear that I haven't asked for. We have tried to run scans but they either stop with an error or crash out into a blue screen with errors, one said something about kendal?! The kids use facebook which I suspect is the cause of the Trojans that McAfee has found on my son's Ergo PC. This had a similiar problem and the scan completed a deleted 18 trojans something about generic host win32?!

I have just run another scan, which took over 5 hours, as it was having problems again and McAfee deleted 5 Trojans called Hiloti.gen.p. I suspect that the Dell has the same Trojans as the Ergo but as the scans won't complete I can get rid of them..

How do I cure the Dell & prevent these problems returning again & again?

How do they get through in the first place when the PC's have McAfee installed?

I'm starting to wonder if the Acer problem is a virus rather than a hardware problem but as it won't boot up at all there is no way of knowing. My husband has sent it of somewhere to be checked out.

I have looked at many forums & many solutions are offered for viruses/trojans, GetSusp,FileAssasin, Malwarebytes and Stinger. I very suspicious of downloading anything, how do I know they are safe & legit. I could be downloading even more problems.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Pudding.

1 Reply
Dinz
Level 16
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 2