cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rpfarrell
Former Member
Message 1 of 8

slow startup after installing mcafee

I'm very new to this, please bear with me. I hope I'm even in the right forum. I recently installed Comcast's Mcafee Security, and ever since I did my computer has been starting up really slow, with the hard drive light showing busy for 4 or 5 minutes during startup. When I initially installed it, it seems I recall setting an option to start Mcafee scan upon startup, or something like that, and I've been trying to find that option again to reset it to run perhaps when I shut down instead, or at least to just see what other options are available, but have had no luck in finding those options. I guess my question to anyone is: Are there any settings I can change in Mcafee to help my computer load and startup quicker, and if so how do I get to them? Before installing Mcafee, my computer would start up in about 2 minutes or so, now it's taking 5 or 6 minutes. I'd appreciate any help anyone could give me concerning this matter. thank you.
Tags (2)
7 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 8

RE: slow startup after installing mcafee

Not knowing what components of the software you installed I can only hazard guesses at some things. First if you are in the habit of storing emails in your Inbox, rather than removing them to specialized folders setup for storage, scans will occur at every startup, notably by Anti-Spam and by VirusScan.

For the first while startups are often slow as the Security Center and Firewall get used to the processes.

To adjust scanning do the following:

Double-click the taskbar icon to open Security Center
Click Advanced Menu (bottom left)
Click Configure (left)
Click Computer & Files (left)
Click Advanced (right)
The default scanning time is 4.00am, which is probably why it starts the minute you startup.