Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
andypoulton
Former Member
Message 1 of 14

Two scans running at the same time 'Possible'

Jump to solution

I now realise this has happened a few times lately. Now that I have found this community though I would post.

Dell W7 laptop. OE Security centre. Fully up to date.

I run a full manual scan. The cooling fan goes flat out. The scan completes 100% and states nothing found.

Interface hangs for a few seconds and will not close when clicking 'DONE' or X.

After closing the whirly wheel is going round on the task bar Icon. It says 'Scheduled scan  'percentage' completed'  [today 64%]

I open UI again and there it is.Scheduled scan running I click cancel. It flicks to 100% complete and closes.

Has two scans really been running side by side.

I am not very technical so would not know where to interogate to find out or is it a bug and others had it.

This was a recent  un-install re install from the lst round of not updating. Now the updating was hanging too as posted.

Cheers Andy

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 10 of 14

Re: Two scans running at the same time 'Possible'

Jump to solution

BTW it just dawned on me, if you have scans using antivirus scheduled plus scans by Vulnerability Scanner under PC and Home Network Tools (it's on by default but you can turn it off) PLUS scheduled scans by QuickClean, then yes several scans could feasibly overlap, but they aren't all the same.

Take a look at those to make sure they don't overlap as that could certainly overtax your cooling system.

Also under antivirus scan settings make sure these 2 items are checked.

Capture.JPG

View solution in original post

13 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 14

Jump to solution

I think maybe the software is somehow corrupted as it is impossible for 2 scans to run at once, despite what you were seeing.