cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ianfootyfan
Former Member
Message 1 of 3

SecurityCenter vs AntiVirus Plus

I have a subscription for SecurityCenter until 2015 but McAfee keep trying to get me to renew a subscription to AntiVirus Plus which lapsed last year. Do I need AV+ if I already have SC? If not, how do I get the lapsed product off my McAfee account so that they stop trying to get me to renew it?

2 Replies
k3tg
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Message 2 of 3

Re: SecurityCenter vs AntiVirus Plus

When you purchased Security Center instead of renewing Antivirus Plus did you first uninstall the program and run the MCPR removal tool found at the top of this page under Useful Links?

There may be some leftover remnants of Antivirus Plus causing this issue you are having regarding the suggestion to renew. The only thing I can suggest that you try to do now is to completely uninstall everything related to McAfee through Control Panel and Add/Remove programs and reboot. Run the MCPR and reboot again. Then login to your online McAfee account and download and install your software.

This method ensures a complete cleaning and a new installation and should resolve your issue. In the event that issues persist, you can always contact Technical Support Chat found at the top of this page under Useful Links. They are available 24 hours a day.

One last question, are you getting a popup advertisement regarding the renewal or are they just emails?

ianfootyfan
Former Member
Message 3 of 3

Re: SecurityCenter vs AntiVirus Plus

Thanks, I will try uninstalling/reinstalling as suggested.