cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dubnikova
Former Member
Message 1 of 42

McAfee Security Center - Interface problems.

I'm a retired software designer. A new version of Mcafee Security Center was automatically installed on my machine (Windows 7 Ultimate , Dell Studio XSP, IE 8, 64 bits) on 8/20/2010 since than I've discovered a number of problems.

1. The new version has an "mangeled" interface, not all the text is shown, and in many cases lettters overlap other letters, and some letter a trimmed. As I understand the interface runs in a IE shell, but I can't use the Compatibility View, that helped me in other cases..  When I try to work with the interface, lets say , change Security Levels, the screen is disabled to start with, there are two buttons: "Restore Defaults" and "Turn On". The "Restore Defaults" button is disabled. The "Turn On" button is enabled, yet when I click on it, the entire interface become enabled for a split second and all returns to be disabled. THis prevents me for changing the security levels so I can deal with my other problems.

2. Since the installation my Outlook incoming mail is not working.

3. A new version of iTunes 10, that was installed after 8/20 can't connect to the internet - the previous version did work, but I suspect that the Security Center has something to do with it.

Please sww attached 2 screen captures.

41 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 42

Re: McAfee Security Center - Interface problems.

The visual problems are probably caused by abnormal screen display settings, are you using Ease of Access controls and/or set display settings or font size to an abnormal level?

In I.E. under the View tab have you set text size to largest by any chance?

With iTunes you would want to give it full access.

Moved to SecurityCenter 10 by the way.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 14/09/10 8:08:56 EDT AM
dubnikova
Former Member
Message 3 of 42

Ex_Brit.