cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Leeeeeeelo
Contributor
Message 1 of 8

How does Mcafee interact with Virtual PC ?

Jump to solution

Hello ,

For a quick introduction , I have Mcafee Antivirus Plus on Windows 7 ultimate . I just installed Windows XP mode and Virtual PC and it is working fine . I am new in this field and don't know anything about security in Virtual PC .

In windows XP mode, it is stated no antivirus was found . How can I let my Mcafee product secure my virtual pc ?

Your help is really appreciated !

Thank you in advance ,

Leeeeeeelo .

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 4 of 8

Re: How does Mcafee interact with Virtual PC ?

Jump to solution

That's a question that only Customer Service could answer really..  I would give it a try and see what happens.  You can always uninstall it.  Your machine is still protected anyway in your main OS.

I would be more inclined to use Windows Firewall and MSE as previously mentioned for antivirus protection as I hardly think XP Mode is going to be used constantly, although I suppose everyone's usage is different.

I installed it in my Windows 7 merely out of curiosity really as any software that runs on XP only can be run on Windows 7 in compatibility mode usually.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 16/05/10 9:51:34 EDT AM

View solution in original post

7 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 8

Jump to solution

Virtual PC is treated as a separate operating system and requires its own protection.  You could install McAfee in it or simply use something such as Microsoft Security essentials or similar.

Leeeeeeelo
Contributor
Message 3 of 8

Jump to solution

Hello Ex_Brit ,

Thank you for your promp reply !

So I need to install my Mcafee product on windowx XP mode ? Will Mcafee consider it as an additional subscription ? ( an other PC ? )