Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PocketPixie
Contributor
Message 1 of 6

C# Files Denied Access

Hello,

There is now an issue with C# files that I create that Mcafee is blocking! I am an aspiring Software Engineer and this draw-back is forcing me to use Online IDES to run my scripts which is not ideal.

Here is one code that is blocked:

using System;

namespace CheckArrayNumber
{
public class CheckN
{
public static void Main(String [] args)
{
//instantiate the array object first
int[] myNum = {10, 20, 30, 40};
//call the method, then call the instantiate array. Pass the variable.
Console.WriteLine(Check(myNum,10));
}
public static bool Check(int[] arr, int el)
{
foreach(int item in arr)
{
if(item == el)
{
return true;
}
}
return false;
}
}
}

As you can see, this is a totally harmless code. It keeps getting a virus signature each time I attempt to run the .exe with the CLI(Command Line Interface). Just 4 months ago I was able to compile C# files fine but now I am getting False Positives for viruses for scripts ran through the command line.

How do I make an exception that I can run scripts through the CLI?

5 Replies
Magesh
McAfee Retired
McAfee Retired
Message 2 of 6

Re: C# Files Denied Access

Hi @PocketPixie 

Please try excluding the .exe file in firewall exceptions and check the outcome. Also let us know the McAfee version installed on the device. 

Regards

Magesh J

PocketPixie
Contributor
Message 3 of 6

Hello Magesh,

The problem with excluding the .exe means excluding every single .exe that I create. This can be problematic as I have multiple files that I want to run through the CLI.

Is there a way to exclude a folder in the firewall settings or the C# language? I had a McAfee agent working remotely on this but they just added all the files (including .cs ones) and disconnected with my firewall and real-time scanning off. I had to manually turn them back on.