cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stuchel
Contributor
Message 1 of 17

Firewall blocking my router on desktop XP machine

Hi, I have an issue with a new router (D-Link 2780) my ISP has provided me with and the firewall on my XP desktop PC which holds all my sharing media.... The firewall stops 2 windows 7 laptops and 3 Xbox's accessing the computers sharing media and files... (The desktop is connected via ethernet along with the Xbox's, Both laptops are wireless) My Mcafee is 3 user internet security 2010. If i disable the firewall on the desktop PC the problem is solved but as this is not an option i am currently having to use a different (not great) router. I am wondering what options i can change in my firewall to stop this problem from happening..

Please help if possible, Im quite new to Mcafee and new to this community.

P.S. both laptops are also internet security 2010 and they both allow sharing and file access...

Also, i have allowed all computers in the home network tab, shared passwords and also accessing the laptops from the desktop work just fine...

Thanks

Stuart

Message was edited by: stuchel adding more Info! on 14/02/11 17:24:35 GMT
16 Replies
newjack
Former Member
Message 2 of 17

Re: Firewall blocking my router on desktop XP machine

http://www.sevenforums.com/network-sharing/56405-sharing-files-between-win7-xp.html

Not sure if this is a different problem with the firewall.But just to double check.See if this article helps at all.

thecreator
Contributor II
Message 3 of 17

newjack wrote:

http://www.sevenforums.com/network-sharing/56405-sharing-files-between-win7-xp.html

Not sure if this is a different problem with the firewall.But just to double check.See if this article helps at all.

Hi newjack,

I will answer for the poster. I answer is no. If that was the problem, turning off the Firewall would have no effect. No, the problem is that the Firewall is blocking the Home Network.

newjack