cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
annoyeduser
Former Member
Message 1 of 5

Firewall automatically grants full access

I have been using McAfee products for quite a few years and in the last couple years the products has become more and more frustrating to use as a "power user."

My major gripe now, and if not resolved will cause me to cut my ties with McAfee, is that the firewall seems to grant full access to applications without asking permission. I just built a new system and added McAfee Total Protection, and went to configure the firewall. I set it to Traffic Contoller: Stealth. And in Smart Advice and Advanced Settings I have tried both unchecking Smart Advice and checking it with "Ask me to decide" marked.

The new system is a Win XP SP 3.

After I experienced this, I went to my other system, Win 7 Pro and also tested it. The firewall there now seems to automatically grants access to applications too. Previously I was able to get it set to asked me for application access at one point, after much frustration playing with settings. But it seems that it no longer asks permission before granting access anymore.

I am questioning the purpose of McAfee firewall, it doesn't seem to function anymore, it's just there to make users "feel" safe, while not performing any function at all. It definitly isn't blocking access...it just lets applications have access without asking for permission.

The only way I can "Manually" set firewall permissions is to contantly check the firewall settings to see what applications have been given access and then to manually set it to block. The solution seems rather pointless, becuase any malicious program will do its damage faster then I check the settings.

Is there a solution to this, to have the firewall ask permssion for application access rather than automatically granting it? Or is this a new feature for McAfee so as not to burden the user with a choice?