cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RogerMcTuffin
Contributor
Message 1 of 4

McAfee on Android showing false positive for Progressive Web App ( PWA )

Hi,

I'm a developer about to release a web app (it's not live yet). The app also functions as a Progressive Web App (PWA) which means it can be installed to the Android home screen via a browser like Chrome.

One of my beta testers has McAfee Mobile Security installed on her phone and it gave her a notification saying "1 threat found" and it showed the icon of the PWA.

There was a link for "more info" but it had no info when clicked.

This is clearly a false positive. Is McAfee aware of PWAs?

I know they're a relatively new technology but they're certainly becoming more common.

3 Replies
Sarath
Contributor II
Message 2 of 4

Re: McAfee on Android showing false positive for Progressive Web App ( PWA )

Hi RogerMcTuffin,

McAfee is definitely aware of PWA , but still since your file is being detected as virus I would recommend you to submit the file sample to McAfee Avert Lab. I have attached a link below in which you can find the steps to submit the sample and you can get it whitelisted. Once you submit the file it will take 5-7 business days for them to get back to you. After submitting the sample please make sure that you keep a note of the sample submission ID.

Link: How to submit virus samples and false positives to McAfee 

Regards,

Sarath Chandran M

KrithikaS
McAfee Retired
McAfee Retired
Message 3 of 4

Hi @RogerMcTuffin 

We certainly understand that you are getting a false positive notification from McAfee on the device.

Indeed its a new technology and its common now, However, we request you to follow the below KB to submit false positives to McAfee.

https://service.mcafee.com/webcenter/portal/cp/home/articleview?locale=en-US&articleId=TS102053

Regards,

Krithika

Janedoe484
Contributor
Message 4 of 4