Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
john47
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 13

Renewal Ads

My new laptop came with one month MCafee which I replaced at the end of trial period with MCafee Lifesafe. I am being plagued by renewal reminders (6+/day), some of which are quite worrying. For instance that my PC has become infected with 8 viruses sender address **personal information omitted**). Who is responsible for this and how can i stop it.  I reported this to MCafee (case ref:SR2869626420) but the problem persists.

12 Replies
Magesh
Message 2 of 13

Re: Renewal Ads

Hi @john47 

We are sorry for the inconvenience. Ads which are getting on your PC might be prompting from your browsers. Please check whether any un related extensions are installed and remove them. 

Also let us know from where you are getting these alerts. 

Thanks,

john47
Level 7
Message 3 of 13

thanks Magesh, I am a computer novice so i have reset my browser settings to see if this helps. i did post a sender address on my first post but mcafee deleted this.  I have had a look at the 8 mails i have received today and all are from different addresses. if I continue to get these I will update tomorrow.

Try some of the free scanner mentioned here especially getsusp by Mcafee and see if they find anything. Ensure you disable malwarebytes real time scanning or remove the program after running it as that feature may clash with McAfee

Antispyware tools

john47
Level 7
Message 5 of 13

Thanks Peacekeeper, as I say I am a computer novice and nervous about downloading any software i dont know and understand. I will wait and see how things develop today before following your suggestion. Thanks a lot for your help.

john47
Level 7
Message 6 of 13