cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Astounded
Former Member
Message 1 of 61

Should McAfee be compensating users after 5958 debacle?

Hi All,

Just add your name and a vote if you think McAfee should be shelling out some cash (not vouchers or subscription extensions) to customers who have been affected by the 5958 update. I spent 3 hours talking to Microsoft first (as it looked like their problem) and then a further 4 hours talking to McAfee. As McAfee charge £1 per minute for support in the UK I reckon they owe me £420, call it £500 for the inconvenience.

In the end I fixed the problem myself, but only because I had a second machine running Vista, a portable harddrive and I am a software engineer who is old enough to remember DOS commands.

McAfee - I look forward to hearing from you so that we can arrange the transfer of funds - this time, saying sorry is not enough.

Graham Bayley B.Eng(hons)

60 Replies
missteekie
Contributor
Message 2 of 61

Re: Should McAfee be compensating users after 5958 debacle?

Well - they should IMHO

I keep automatic updates on.   Closed down for the evening Wednesday, switch on yesterday:

Count down NT window ...

Reboot

No bottom task bar

No access to programmes via window key

No ability to copy and paste

Safe mode slow, ALL RESTORE GONE,  last known good configuration gone

No Internet

Unable to save any of the recent not backed up files.  Windows generally flaky.

PC World, trying to repair,  £70 tell me it's VUNDO.  Since being able to get online via another machine,  IT'S McAfee,  I don't expect cash, by £70 worth of free subscription.

But the bottom line is I've lost a lot of stuff I would prefer to have not lost.

Looks like I'm in for a reformat,  all work, programmes gone.

HELP

Message was edited by: missteekie on 23/04/10 05:41:38 CDT
Tragedy
Former Member
Message 3 of 61