cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
confusedperson
Former Member
Message 1 of 4

Please help, Mcafee won't scan at all and strange missing file causing problems?

Hi I'm new,  I hope someone can help me, I'm not sure what to do.  Yesterday Mcafee wouldn't scan I just click on run a scan and when I try to select a scan it just doesn't do anything and freezes on the select a scan page..  Also it keeps warning me that real-time scanning is off and even if I try to put it on it just doesn't come on.  I ran virtual technician from the website and it states that everything (virus scan, cleaner and shredder, parental controls, firewall, etc) all of them are flagged as having this problem:  Product configuration XML file missing.

I can uninstall and reinstall using the clean up tool I just downloaded but will this fix the problem?

Also I have a subscription for 3 devices and have two already in use, if I reinstall will this use up my final 'user'?

I have windows 8.1 if that's relevant?

Please help I'm not sure what to do, I don't even know if my laptop's protected at this time .

3 Replies
catdaddy
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 4

Re: Please help, Mcafee won't scan at all and strange missing file causing problems?

​,

It sounds as though your installation has become corrupted ( It happens). I would suggest that you indeed perform a Uninstall/Reinstall following the procedures as you mentioned.

However I would as a second opinion, run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (Free) followed up by running Malwarebytes AdwCleaner to make certain you have anything untoward on your system before doing so.

These superb applications and more can be obtained here;

Please apprise us of your outcome..

All the Best,

Cliff

Consumer Products

Cliff
McAfee Volunteer
catdaddy
MVP
MVP
Message 3 of 4

Re: Please help, Mcafee won't scan at all and strange missing file causing problems?

Moved from > Support Forums to General Discussion > Discussions

Cliff