Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kcjadesolo
Former Member
Message 1 of 20

McAfee and Windows Defender

Jump to solution

I have McAfee Total Protection, my computer is an HP laptop, and I have windows 10. Mostly i like windows 10, but for the past couple of days my McAfee and my Windows Defender and the firewall have been shutting off and coming on, all by themselves. dose anyone know how to fix this and what causes this? I'm not very good with computers, but I know that this shouldn't be happening. Also is it ok, to get online with my computer acting this way?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Bharani_BD
McAfee Retired
McAfee Retired
Message 20 of 20

Re: McAfee and Windows Defender

Jump to solution

hi 

Kindly check if there is any windows update pending, as an windows update should fix this issue.

To check for windows update kindly follow the below steps.

select the Start button, and then go to Settings Update & Security Windows Update 

Let us know if the issue still persists or if you require any help from our End. 

Regards,

Bharani

View solution in original post

19 Replies
catdaddy
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 20

Jump to solution

I recommend that you Disable *Windows Defender* as it is incompatible with Your McAfee Software. Unlike prior versions, it has Anti-Virus capabilities. Running 2 Security applications as such at the same time, is a disaster waiting to happen.

All the Best

CD

Cliff
McAfee Volunteer
catdaddy
MVP
MVP
Message 3 of 20

Jump to solution

Successfully moved from Personal Firewall to General Discussion > Discussions

Cliff
McAfee Volunteer
skanungo
Contributor
Message 4 of 20

Jump to solution

As ​ already mentioned, you need to disable Windows Defender in order for McAfee to work properly. Disabling Windows Defender is little tricky as it gets enabled from time to time if you disable them from settings.

In start menu type regedit and provide admin password if prompted.