Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
4prem
Former Member
Message 1 of 10

McAfee Labs Dat Release Notification

Hi,

Last year, in November, I changed my telephone carrier and was switched to McAfee virus protection.

On Febrary 2nd, I began receiving McAfee Labs Dat Release Notifications, such as follows:

> Subject: McAfee Labs Dat Release Notification: 5896 Dat Files Released

>

>  The 5896 daily dat files have been released and are available for download.

>

>  The various 5896 daily dat file packages can be found at

http://www.mcafee.com/apps/downloads/security_updates/dat.asp

When I called my telephone carrier, I was told that I am receiving these notifications because I deactivated McAfee e-mail protection.

I have been using EUDORA for e-mail, since the 1990s.  If I activate McAfee e-mail protection, then I cannot check or send e-mail.
Should I ignore the dat release notifications?
Or should I do something?  If so, then what?
Thanks!
9 Replies
Dinz
Former Member
Message 2 of 10

Re: McAfee Labs Dat Release Notification

Hi 4prem,

The DAT release notification are sent to you so that you download the latest anti virus definitions for McAfee VirusScan and ensure taht your McAfee product contains the most up-to-date detection and prevention.And may I know do you receive any errors messages from your email client when you enable your email protecion ?

Regards,

Dinesh K

exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 3 of 10

Thanks Dinz, I was looking into the original question and I don't see a way of unsubscribing from those notifcations, is there one?

Not forgetting that home users can't update manually except by asking SecurityCenter to search for updates anyway.

exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 4 of 10

Well I subscribed to DAT notification emails to test it and at the foot of every one is an unsubscribe link.

4prem
Former Member
Message 5 of 10

Dinesh,