cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lordcaric
Former Member
Message 1 of 15

I'm really tired of the issues - McAfee you lost a longtime customer

I've been a McAfee user for many years now.  I've been working in Information Technology for 12 years and I've used McAfee products at work and I use it at home with the Total Protection service.  This is my 3rd year now with the Total Protection and with every new update, I get more and more frustrated.  Needless to say, I know my way around computers - Windows, Linux, Unix, Mac, I've worked on them all.

Do you know how frustrating it is to boot up a really fast machine, get to the desktop with everything fully loaded (we all know Windows can be slow to boot with every program and its mother needing a service or program to run at Startup these days) and STILL have issues just opening my *&#$^S-ing browser?  McAfee services continue to load well after the tray icon loads.  12 services for your app.  TWELVE!  Are you kidding me?  Do you really need to build an app that needs 12 services to run on startup and continue to load well after the desktop is loaded?  When the desktop is loaded I want to go and do what I need to do, not sit around and wait for your application to finish loading its' services just so I can go online.

You know how many times McAfee downloads an automatic update and the next time I boot up my machine, it locks up Chrome, Firefox and even sucky IE from even loading anything?  Happens after EVERY SINGLE UPDATE!  Heaven forbid you actually let a user with Admin privileges shut down the services to free up the crash because loading the Agent application crashes too when this happens.  So the only thing left to do is to RESTART MY MACHINE AFTER I JUST BOOTED IT UP!  And to top it all off, I can't even restart the machine, I have to press the power button and shut it down that way, risking damage to open files.  Are you kidding me?