cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
twilleby
Former Member
Message 1 of 4

Help!!!!

Hi I am new to Mcafee and computers in general I downloaded and paid for site advisor with understanding that would see colored icon before search page opened. Have not seen colored shield anywhere and ran spybot and had 99 trogans am I doing something wrong? Is there suppose to be a search window next to mcafee symbol? Also noticed someone asked about uninstalling mcafee stated was blocked from different areas Im also blocked from alot of areas on computer and thought had virus causing this is it mcafee doing this? or is mcafee a virus?

3 Replies
Peacekeeper
Message 2 of 4

Re: Help!!!!

Have you got an antivirus and firewall installed as you only mentioned siteadvisor?  What browser are you using? In IE you should have an green tab top right. My firefox shows it bottom left. Firefox needs to activate it as an addon.

That said what do you mean blocked ? Are you saying a virus has stopped your access to folders?

Best to download and run the following

1. stinger

2 getsusp (both these need redownloading as they do not auto update)

Add yur email in the getsusp preferences.

3 Run malwarebytes.

McAfee Communities: Anti-Spyware, Malware & Hijacker Tools

Then see what /how the pc goes.

tripodzid
Former Member
Message 3 of 4

I currently have an AV and would like to know what is the difference of having Malwarebytes?

Peacekeeper
Message 4 of 4

Malwarebytes looksat different  types of infections. It can have higher false detections as it is quite severe on detections so I hear. I recommend it as a 2nd opinion to Mcafee

· ...from one of the lead developers of MalwareBytes (Bruce Harrison) :