cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
over
Former Member
Message 1 of 8

Will File Lock (part of Total Protection suite) still work in a year?

I'm relatively new to subscription based software, so go easy on me.  I bought Total Protection 2014 some time ago but just got around to using the File Lock vaults.  If I don't renew my license to TP after my year is up, will I still be able to open these vaults on my PC?  (Noticed I could do so even if I disable internet connection, but I imagine there's some kind of time stamp on the app.)  Thanks.

7 Replies
Peacekeeper
Message 2 of 8

Re: Will File Lock (part of Total Protection suite) still work in a year?

As it is part of TP I am unsure best to call customer support see

http://service.mcafee.com/CustomerService.aspx?lc=1033&sg=CS&pt=1

exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 3 of 8

I would imagine that the vaults would always be accessible as long as you can remember the security questions and answers and File Lock is installed, however, it it were me whose subscription was about to run out and if I had no intention of renewing it, I would make sure I had live versions of everything I needed.   Remember you can't clone or copy anything in the vault, only make shortcuts to those files so you would need actual separate full versions in another location of anything stored in there.  Some FAQ's HERE.  Anyway as Peacekeeper states, best ask Customer Service, they can connect you with Technical Support if necessary if they can't answer it.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 21/06/14 8:33:14 EDT AM
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 4 of 8

On second thoughts, I wouldn't run the risk of relying on any software to continue working after a subcription lapses.  The virus protection and firewall portions of it would no longer work so no reason to assume File Lock would.  

So best get the official verdict from support.

over
Former Member
Message 5 of 8