cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mkm
Contributor
Message 1 of 5

mcshield 99 percent CPU

I have been running a software program for several years without any problems.  After I upgraded to the latest version of the program, McAfee created the following problem:  As soon as I start running the software program, McAfee mcshield takes 99 percent of the CPU and locks up the PC for about 10 minutes.  During this time, and I cannot do anything on the PC.  Then mcshield goes back down to zero percent CPU usage, and things return to normal.

If I disable McAfee real time scanning BEFORE I run the program, mcshield does NOT take any CPU time, and the software program runs without any problems.

I added the program to my list of Trusted items, but that did not solve the problem.

How do I get mcshield NOT to scan the program when I run it?

4 Replies
Dinz
Former Member
Message 2 of 5

Re: mcshield 99 percent CPU

Hello mkm,

Could you please provide the following information ;so that we could investigate on this issue

What is the operating system of the computer ?
How old is the computer ?
The name of the software which we are running ?

Please get back with the above details , we are happy to get this resolved for you.

Thanks,
Dinesh K
McAfee Online Community Moderator

Mayne
Former Member
Message 3 of 5

I have the same problem on a laptop ,2ghz intel atom , 1gb ram ,windows xp home edition

mkm
Contributor
Message 4 of 5