cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ikeika
Former Member
Message 1 of 5

Service Host problem

There are many threads on this, but service host starts running which causes system core to run using up 100% of my CPU.  I can't do anything until it takes a breather and I can get in.  This has been going on for a few months.  I had uninstalled Mcafee because of the problem last year and only recently reinstalled it.  Now there is no uninstall on my controll panel.  I can't get rid of it.  I have a multi subscription and I don't dare put it on any of my other computers.  If someone can point me in the right direction to correct this, I will.  If not, then I'll need to wipe this hard drive clean and reinstall everything except McAfee. 

I have security center version 11.0

build 11.0.649

Virus scan version 15.0

build 15.0.294

Message was edited by: ikeika
INFO:

I have a scratch built computer

ASUS P4P800e-Deluxe motherboard
Intel P4 3.2e gig processor
Corsair TwinX memory 1 gig x 4
Western Digital hard drives 640 gig x 2
Radeon 2600 Video card
Creative Audigy sound card

Windows XP SP3
Explorer 8
on 1/12/12 10:00:23 PM CST
4 Replies
ikeika
Former Member
Message 2 of 5

Re: Service Host problem