cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
user_174104
Former Member
Message 1 of 4

Javascript error with Windows 7 when trying to download AntiVirus Plus 2010

So I got a free subscription card for McAfee AntiVirus Plus 2010 and decided to put it on my laptop that runs with Windows 7 32-bit. Well, when I initially tried to download it came up with the message "Download cannot continue...." or something similar to that. The basic gist of it was telling me that javascript wasn't functioning properly on my PC. I immediately scoped around online and updated my Java, and any updates Windows had.

The most prevalent solution I found from a number of sites including the official McAfee tech center was:

1) Run command prompt as an Administrator
2) Executing the command "regsvr32 jscript.dll" (It successfully executed)
3) Executing the command "regsve32 vbscript.dll (This also was succesful)
4) Reboot
5) Attempting the download again.

Unfortunately, even this above method did not work as I am still getting the same javascript error when I try to access the McAfee Download Manager. I've tried using Chrome, Internet Explore 8, and Mozilla Firefox as different browsers, each of them with javascript enabled, and the same error still persists. Even when I saved the dmsetup.exe file on my desktop and tried to execute it as an Administrator, the same happens.

Also, whenever the error box shows up, it prompts me to go to this link: http://us.mcafee.com/root/campaign.asp?cid=43582