cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
sblade
Former Member
Message 1 of 5

Internet Explorer will not Launch

I'm looking for assistance.  I'm a computer tech.  Currently unemployed, but that's not important.  I have a friend who is having a problem with his IE. 

He tries to launch IE, (I believe it's IE 7 and Windows XP), and it flashes but then goes to a screen saver.  This just started yesterday.  Now, not being near his location, but will be traveling their tomorrow.  Since this is a new problem, or at least one I haven't heard, I'm wondering if it may be a virus. I had him go to Task Manager>Processes to see if iexplore was active. I didn't find odd running in the backgrownd either.  I found nothing, so far.  Any thoughts on this?  I will also be helping him select a new computer and backing up his current system, but if it has a virus, that is something of which I want to be aware.  I need assistance ASAP.  Anybody know or have ideas about this problem?  I'm stumped on this one until I get ideas and/or sit infront of the machine itself. 

All ideas and thoughts on this will be greatly appreciated.

ShadedBladed

4 Replies
exbrit
MVP
MVP
Message 2 of 5

Re: Internet Explorer will not Launch

It could be an infection, in which case try some suggestions in the last link in my signature below.   More likely it's simply corruption.  There is a Microsoft Fixit solution here:  http://support.microsoft.com/kb/318378

Once you sort it out I suggest upgrading to IE8 as it is safer.

You might want to also post on a Windows help forum.

Message was edited by: Ex_Brit on 21/03/13 9:15:55 EDT PM
sblade
Former Member
Message 3 of 5

Thank you, kind Sir.