cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
user_164699
Former Member
Message 1 of 3

How to install total protection 2011

Hope someone can help.  Before I start I have to admit to being a thicko regarding computers and get by more by good luck than anything else!

I soon will have to put the 2011 total protection on my PC as it's nearly time for the old one to expire.  I had a rough idea of how to do it i.e go to add/remove programmes and remove Mcafee, then run the removal tool to get rid of the last remmnants, then I hoped it would just be a case of inserting the CD and following on screen instructions to install the 2011 version.  As previously mentioned I am not very good at these things so contacted support and asked them if they would send me an e-mail with a step by step guide.

I empaphised in my e-mail that I was a bit nervous about doing the install. (yes i'm still a thicko)

The reply that came back sadly was not what I expected, reading through the e-mail it totally bamboozled me and made me think I would need a degree in I.T. to carry out the task, it was so so technical!!

Yes I had to remove existing security suite, so far so good as I am able to do this, then I had to run removal tool, yes I can also do this, then the hard bit came and I quote:

step 4

Reset the internet explorer, with extremely complicated instructions of how to to it,  I never had to do this last year so my question is, is it really necessary?

I have windows XP and will (hopefully) be installing by way of shop bought CD.

Any help would be much appreciated. just wish these things were a bit more user friendly!!

2 Replies
Peacekeeper
Message 2 of 3

Re: How to install total protection 2011

Yes  best to remove via

http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?lc=1033&id=TS100507

reboot and run this it will reset IE for you

http://download.mcafee.com/products/licensed/cust_support_patches/Mcpreinstall.exe

Then use the cd.