Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mel48
Contributor
Message 1 of 7

2 Issues: Getting Renew Subscription msg but it IS renewed & Activation msg too

Hello,

I installed McAfee AntiVirus Plus 2011 recently on my laptop - I am using Windows XP 2002 SP3. 

Issue #1:  Activation Message

I got a pop-up message from the beginning saying I needed to activate the subscription and had until the end of this month to do so.  However, in order to do this I need the product number and the person who bought the disc (who owns this laptop which I am borrowing while my pc is not operable) cannot find the product number.  Do we need to activate the product?  I thought by installing it, it is then automatically activated? 

Issue #2: Renew Subscription

Today I booted up the laptop and got another McAfee pop-up window saying my subscription has ended and needs to be renewed and I am no longer protected.  What is that about?  I just installed the product. 

Thank you,

Mel

6 Replies
Dinz
Former Member
Message 2 of 7

Re: 2 Issues: Getting Renew Subscription msg but it IS renewed & Activation msg too

Hi mel48,

The product needs to be activated as only then it would be able to communicate to McAfee servers to download the product updates . Eventually you would need the product key to get this accomplished. Please click on Useful links – Customer Service at the top of this page and get connected to our Customer service representative and they would help you get this fixed.

Regards

Message was edited by: Dinz on 7/27/11 11:27:37 AM GMT-06:00
mel48
Contributor
Message 3 of 7

Re: 2 Issues: Getting Renew Subscription msg but it IS renewed & Activation msg too

Hi Dinesh,

Thank you for your response. I will heed your advice in contacting customer service.

Mel

mel48
Contributor
Message 4 of 7